Book of the Month: HOW TO SAVE A LIFE, Sara Zarr

January 13, 2012 § 1 Comment

The middle Friday of every month is my regular Book of the Month feature, but I’m back to talking about depression on Monday if you’ll be kind enough to stop by again. Some things:

Thank you for your response. It means the world to me. Also, someone pointed me to a couple other posts you should read: Allie Brosh of the amazing Hyperbole and a Half, and this earnest post from Strong Inside Out. Amy and Allie both do a great job of capturing the emotions I don’t go into as much. You feel isolated, worthless, stupid – you wonder what’s wrong with you when there shouldn’t be anything wrong with you. Read their stories.

This month’s BotM is a young adult novel by Sara Zarr, HOW TO SAVE A LIFE. I’ve heard nothing but good things about Sara for years but never read her. I don’t lean toward straight contemps. But I saw the summary of this one, and when it came out at the bookstore, I read the first couple pages. I had to read it. I borrowed the book, devoured it, and then bought the copy.

 

WHY THIS BOOK: The characters. Mandy has one of the most aching real characterizations/voices I’ve ever seen. She made me uncomfortable in her ideas about life and men. I absolutely squirmed reading her chapters. Which made the story that much more perfect, resonant, as it progressed. The story went to places you expected, but many you didn’t.

WHO SHOULD READ THIS BOOK: Anyone who loves chick flicks, a good heart-warmer, and who doesn’t mind crying a bit.

 

§ One Response to Book of the Month: HOW TO SAVE A LIFE, Sara Zarr

  • Amy says:

    Thank you for the shout out, Jessica! I’m so glad my post seems to be helping people feel less alone.

    I’ll have to check this book out!

I love a good discussion.

What’s this?

You are currently reading Book of the Month: HOW TO SAVE A LIFE, Sara Zarr at jessicacorra.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,729 other followers

