Wellness For Writers

I know the blog has been slow but it’s because I’ve been focused on one of my other passions, wellness. I’d like to combine the topics for today’s post. I’ll be blogging about health, fitness, wellness and nutrition in general as time goes on, too. I’m not a doctor, but I’ve done a TON of research on all of these topics along my disability journey and want to share what I’ve learned. There are three main topics I want to discuss about health and writers: making sure you move, watching how you eat, and biomechanics. But first: these things are important for overall well-being, not because you should lose weight or go on a diet. Life is short. Take care of yourself and be happy, whatever that looks like. And of course, disability is a real thing, chronic illness is a real thing, and these discussions are meant to be general.

As writers, or anyone with a desk job, we know the importance of moving our bodies to counteract all our time sitting. But as creatives, we often don’t think of ourselves as athletic. I know I’ve made jokes about how exercise just isn’t for me. Except it’s for everyone. And *especially* if you have a desk job.

There are countless ways to incorporate movement into your everyday. Rule number one is to take breaks. You know you need them for your concentration and mental acuity, but if you use your break time to stretch or do a bit of cardio, even better. Walk around the block, do jumping jacks, and even meditate for a couple minutes before sitting back down. If none of those sound up your alley, at least make sure you’re doing stretches to counter the effects of repetitive strain. Stand up and touch your toes, arch your back, roll your shoulders out, and bend your hands. Every hour is probably ideal, but do what you can. If it’s possible to add actual workouts into your free time away from the desk, even better, but it’s not always an option.

What about snacking? We all have our writing (or editing) foods, and if we’re being honest, they’re usually junk food! Swap that out! You are not doing yourself or your long-term health any favours with those M&M’s. (Yes, treats are great, but keep them as that, treats, not regular snacks.) Think of it this way: junk food is processed, yes? It’s primarily empty calories in the form of carbs. What are carbs designed to do? Give you immediate energy! They’re great before workouts when you need access to that fuel. But if you’re about to spend the rest of the afternoon sitting at a desk, that energy isn’t going to be used. So it’ll be stored… and you know what that means, fat. Not only that but empty calories don’t give you a feeling satiety meaning you’ll snack more than you need to. Aim for protein, fiber, and/or healthy fats to fill you up. Some easy favourites are air-popped popcorn (hold the butter and salt), cucumber and hummus, plain nonfat Greek yoghurt and berries, or an apple with peanut butter.

To be honest, I’m terrible with snacks because I don’t eat them! I’ll talk more about this in another post, but I prefer to eat three filling meals, though sometimes I’ll split my lunch into two smaller meals. Some evidence suggests having 5-6 smaller meals has health benefits, but I find healthy eating and exercise is about finding what works for you. In general, any reasonable exercise and diet plan will keep you on track as long as you’re consistent, so the trick is making sure you’ll stick with whatever you’re doing. An easy way to do that is to make small changes that you don’t even notice, like adding in those stretch breaks. Not a big deal, but impactful. Set a timer if you need to! Or make sure you’re eating a good breakfast with protein, fiber, and healthy fat. Start with that and eventually all your meals will be healthier.

The last thing I want to mention is biomechanics. This probably isn’t a subject you’re very familiar with unless you have a reason, but I think it’s paramount to general wellbeing. Yes, I mean posture! Since my hypermobility diagnosis this is a topic I’ve had to get more into. In addition to my hypermobility I have a very significant swayback. Both of these things mean my biomechanics are totally out of whack. It’s no wonder my knees constantly hurt when I constantly lock them, putting more work on my quads to boot. Or my back hurts because I’m constantly slouched over! You’d be amazed at the ways repetitive strain on various joints and muscles can add up to health problems. If you spend all day at a desk, this is a HUGE concern. Make sure your desk is set up as ergonomically as possible! Many workplaces offer assessments through HR. If not, it’s a Google search away! A very easy mantra/rule of thumb I swear by is “chest up, shoulders down.” If you lift your chest and drop your shoulders not only will your posture improve, you’ll start to engage your abs/core more by default, always a good thing. Just becoming more aware of where and how your body is in space can make a big difference for the better!

I hope this post has given you some food for thought about three major areas of concerns for desk workers. What tips or tricks do you have to deal with all that sitting?

Leave a comment